Do Baskets Get Lonely?

December 4, 2008 at 3:29 am 5 comments

Take a sad little peek at this:

You guessed it. My knitting basket is empty. I don’t have anything to knit. (Pause for collective gasp.)

Now, you’re probably asking, “Why don’t you just go get some yarn from your stash, pick up a random pair of needles, cast on, and start knitting?”  If you are thinking that, I would automatically assume that you are a non-knitter. The fact is, it’s just not that easy.

Even though I have a full drawer of yarn, all of that yarn is boring. I have used it all before. Which, I know, is not a good enough reason to stop knitting with it. We knitters have a way of convincing ourselves that once a yarn has been used for a project, it’s no good anymore.

Of course, the ulterior motive is that we want more yarn.

Which leads me to a rather exciting bit of information. I am going to knit a scarf for someone for Christmas, (it’s probably not you, so don’t get worked into a frenzy) and Mom said that she could take me to the yarn store! Whoopee!

So, I guess that my yarn basket will not be lonely for much longer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh Victory in… Mittens? The Yarn I Love

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 4, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Ooh! Is it the same yarn store we went to when we were there?

    *hopes for some pictures of the new yarn after it is bought*

  • 2. Mom  |  December 4, 2008 at 6:10 am

    I’m sorry your basket is lonely, however, at least it’s a Longaberger basket and is adorable all by itself!
    *Mom

  • 3. Aunt Nanna  |  December 4, 2008 at 7:44 am

    O.k. are we sisters or what? I was going to write the same thing your mom wrote. :) I’m sure it won’t be empty long.

  • 4. Deborah  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:40 am

    I stopped at the yarn store in WDM today after my insurance class and DIDN’T buy anything, aren’t you proud of me! I kept thinking of all the christmas presents I wanted to finish knitting BEFORE Christmas:)

  • 5. Whitney  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Sarah: Actually, there’s a new yarn store in town! Yay!
    Mom: Yes, it’s cute all by itself!
    Aunt Nanna: Yes, you’re sisters and my mom acts just like you sometimes. It’s kind of scary. :)
    Aunt Debbie: I’m proud that you didn’t buy anything for yourself…. but if you ever have the urge to get some yarn, you can buy it and then give it to me. That way you can say you didn’t buy any yarn for yourself. :)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things You Ought to Know

Welcome to my blog! This is a space where I can post about random things going on in my life. I love to knit, bake, sew, and do crafty things. These are many of the subjects you'll find on my blog, as well as other teenager activities. :) I hope you enjoy reading about some of the weird things I do!!

Recent Posts

    follow me on Twitter
    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

    Blog Stats

    • 1,500 hits

