A Letter to my Sock

February 24, 2009 at 2:53 pm 1 comment

Dear sock-in-progress,

 

If you will allow, I would like to ask you some questions that will hopefully clear some things up for me. Thank you for your cooperation. Here I go.

 

I was wondering how it is possible that on one lovely afternoon, I was happily knitting all of your 54 stitches. I then, for some odd reason, decide to count you, only to find out that you have misplaced a stitch.  After checking for dropped stitches and finding none, I now have only 53 stitches.

 

You can understand how I felt. Knowing that you would choose to frustrate me, on purpose, by “losing” a stitch, is a very distressing thing. I will have you know that I will find that stitch.

 

Back to the letter. Being frustrated, of course, I decide to put you down and go about my business.  I will have you know that I did not touch you until the next afternoon. You can not deny that I did not touch you. So there.

 

Now for the question. How is it that when I counted you the next afternoon,  after not touching you for almost 24 hours, you had 55 stitches? You know I did not touch you! I didn’t even look at you, after your insulting stitch-misplacing  behavior. How? HOW?

 

I, deciding not to grind you in my food processor yet, rip you out nearly 3 rows, only to find out you now have 56 stitches. I am thoroughly appalled.

 

I have chosen not to judge you, therefore, the next time I pick you up, please have yourself under control, and present your stitches to me in a way which makes me want to knit you. The correct number of stitches, which is 54, would also be ideal.

 

I thank you and hope that you will be kind and thoughtful from now on, you wretched sock.

 

Love,

 

Your Knitter

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Valentine Cookies Substitution

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  February 25, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Whoa, that’s weird… I hope the sock gets itself in order soon!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things You Ought to Know

Welcome to my blog! This is a space where I can post about random things going on in my life. I love to knit, bake, sew, and do crafty things. These are many of the subjects you'll find on my blog, as well as other teenager activities. :) I hope you enjoy reading about some of the weird things I do!!

Recent Posts

    follow me on Twitter
    February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  

    Blog Stats

    • 1,500 hits

